Library etiquette….shhhh!

2016-03-14 001 085I completed by undergraduate degree and was accepted into business school at Wayne State University beginning this Spring/Summer session (2016). I’m pretty excited and want to really get things started in a positive direction as I work toward my MBA. Today, I went to the library to begin work on my final paper (Due in one month from now). I have my usual spot on the top floor all the way in the back where it’s normally pretty quiet. Occasionally you get people who are not used to the idea that libraries are not the place to have open conversations. This was one of those occasions.

As I approached my favorite study area, I noticed two girls talking in a normal tone of voice. I selected a table that was on the far end from them. The talking didn’t seem very disturbing and I thought that they would discontinue since they noticed that someone else was now in the same area of the library. They continued to talk and I took out my headphones and plugged them in. As I listened to some study music I could still hear the discussion at the far end of the library. I turned and looked in their direction, our eyes connected but they continued to talk.

I would turn around two more times after that and by this time the conversation they were having included some laughter as well as very audible discussion about medical school. Finally, I decided that I would just leave because I was not in the mood to teach the finer points of library etiquette to these neophytes.

As I approached the elevators, I noticed the two girls coming behind me. I thought this would be a good time to let them know how inconsiderate they were. I had a second thought and the elevator doors opened. As I stepped into the elevator, I held the door and impulsively said, “Excuse me ladies, I just wanted to let you know that from the time I arrived in this library you both held a conversation that was so loud I could hear you with my headphones on.” They both looked at each other then looked at me and said, almost in unison, “We’re sorry about that.” All I could think was…that’s it, you’re sorry?

I concluded by saying, “You couldn’t cut me some slack here? I don’t mean to sound so bitchy but you made it really difficult for me to study.” They said sorry again and the tallest one added, “You could have come over and said something to us.” I shook my head to prevent myself from saying what I was thinking, We are all in a library, normally reserved for quiet study, and you think I should have stopped what I was doing to walk over to your table and remind you that you shouldn’t talk in a library while others are trying to study—how inconsiderate!

Leave a Reply

